Toyota Prius Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I am a newb so need some help (thanks in advance). I have a 2009 prius with 170k miles. After our extreme cold snap a week or 2 ago where it was minus 10 degrees here I was met with a lot of simultaneous warning lights on my dash (the Big red triangle with the exclamation point, the braking system light (ie. the yellow exclamation point encased by a circle, the VSC light and the check engine light) I went to autozone and they did the system check and it said the following (it indicated problems with the power train system , the antilock brake system and service interval light, additionally it said I needed to replace the battery and had the following codes:
C2300 (actuator system malfunction)
C2318 (low voltage)
C1241 (battery)
C1300 (ECU malfunction
C!#!) (malfunction in HV system)

My question is which battery needs to be changed - the 12 Volt auxiliary battery or the (much more expensive and probably represents the death knell of my beloved Prius) Hybrid System Battery?

THANKS!!!!!!!

· Super Moderator
'17 C 4
755 Posts
My question is which battery needs to be changed - the 12 Volt auxiliary battery or the (much more expensive and probably represents the death knell of my beloved Prius) Hybrid System Battery?
You can not trust any diagnostic results unless you are positively sure that the 12 V battery is healthy and fully charged.
And that the main cable connections are good.......at both ends.
So you need to address that first.

They should have told you that at Autozone.
They also test (and sell) 12 V batteries.

Note: IF your vehicle is not driven regularly and for a decent distance,
you NEED go find another way to keep the 12 V fully charged.
That usually is a battery tender.

· Registered
1 Posts