2011 won't go into drive or reverse - Toyota Prius Forum : Toyota Prius Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 01-29-2020, 10:38 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Moorpark, CA
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Send a message via Skype™ to WinLange
Default 2011 won't go into drive or reverse

Got into my Prius, pushed the start button and everything came up, but nothing happens when I move the shifter into drive or reverse. My son said he moved it earlier to back it up a couple of feet, but now it won't drive. Battery shows full, tank is half full, headl6are on.
WinLange is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 01-30-2020, 09:43 AM
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: N. Central Florida
Posts: 452
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Default

IIRC, the action of the "shifter" is really electrical and not mechanical like with a conventional transmission.
That could mean that a wire is loose or the mechanism right under or behind the shifter is broken.
It might be a fairly simple fix for someone who knows how it works.......like a Toyota shop.

Did he force the shifter to move when the car was not "ON" ??

'17 Prius C-4
Easy Rider is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 01-30-2020, 04:38 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Moorpark, CA
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Send a message via Skype™ to WinLange
Default

Will have to ask him when I get home. I know it shifts electrically and not mechanically, but don't know where to look for connection problems.
WinLange is offline  
 
post #4 of 16 Old 01-30-2020, 05:46 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Moorpark, CA
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Send a message via Skype™ to WinLange
Default

Called up my local mechanic and asked him and said it might me be the brake light switch, and to tap the brake pedal. Anybody got anything to add to that?
WinLange is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 01-31-2020, 11:58 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Moorpark, CA
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Send a message via Skype™ to WinLange
Default

I checked the brake pedal and it is pushing the switch. Then when pushing the start button, some electrical lights coming on, but not like it should. Figured the battery was down. Fob not working properly for locking and unlocking. Doesn't do a think for the hatch locking and unlocking. Had to crawl to it to unlock manually. Put charger on the battery as it was low voltage. When I went out this morning, nothing electrical is now working on the car. Totally dead. Disconnect battery charger and left to go to work. Hope someone here can tell what the **** is happening with my PRIOUS.
WinLange is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 01-31-2020, 11:59 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Moorpark, CA
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Send a message via Skype™ to WinLange
Default

What? H E L L is a bad word?
WinLange is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 01-31-2020, 12:18 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Moorpark, CA
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Send a message via Skype™ to WinLange
Default

I charged the battery directly at the rear of the car. Would that hurt charging there as I just read that you charge under the hood?
WinLange is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 01-31-2020, 06:08 PM
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: N. Central Florida
Posts: 452
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WinLange View Post
I charged the battery directly at the rear of the car. Would that hurt charging there as I just read that you charge under the hood?
NO. But you might have loosened an already loose battery clamp even more by connecting to it.

Do you have a multi-meter to check voltages ?
If not, you need one.

With the additional details, it does sound like a failed 12 V battery........or a bad main cable connection.

'17 Prius C-4
Easy Rider is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 02-01-2020, 03:10 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Moorpark, CA
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Send a message via Skype™ to WinLange
Default

I just clamped over the connectors to the battery without loosening them. Now connecting charger through the engine compartment. Tried the start button to see if anything turned on. Nothing. Leaving it connected to see what if anything happens at all.
WinLange is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 02-01-2020, 06:04 PM
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: N. Central Florida
Posts: 452
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WinLange View Post
I just clamped over the connectors to the battery without loosening them.
SIGH.

Just TOUCHING things sometimes disturbs them.
If the connection at the battery was marginal before, it might be totally bad now.

You NEED a meter.

'17 Prius C-4
Easy Rider is offline  
Reply

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome