2013 navigation - Toyota Prius Forum : Toyota Prius Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 01-09-2013, 01:07 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Default 2013 navigation

New to forum With a few questions. Just picked up a 2013 standard five door previous level V. They have changed the navigation system since my last prius. Does the newest system auto zoom as u reach turns, exits etc. mine stays in whatever level of zoom that was manually selected? Also when starting car at night the head lights come on automatically, dash lights dim but map screen stays in day mode even though auto is selected!! Car is two weeks old - seems like they hid a Kia under a Toyota body. Any help would be appreciated. Have been to dealer twice with no luck. One more try and lemon law activated 😕😕😕
bradysplace is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 03-18-2013, 05:19 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Default

bradysplace, 2013 navigation sucks! Very disappointed. Want my 2010 back! Also have a prius 5. Didn't opt for the fancy $3000 upgrade . guess we are being punished.
deter is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 07-31-2013, 12:31 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Default

you are unlucky.. i just bought a new gps from happyshoppinglife. it is great. there is no issues It seems that you should consult your dearler
Ackerman is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 Old 04-20-2014, 10:21 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Sin City
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Default

This is PERSACTLY why I got a two model Prius V. My Garmin has free lifetime updates and is easy to use, not to mention right in my line of sight, where it belongs.

I had the cord hardwired and it comes out by the driver's small triangular side window, where I attatch the Garmin mount.

I am modding my V the way I want and saving lots of money over a five model yet getting a car that will go faster and handle better than any five model Prius V. Really, who needs radar nannys front and back?
Sun roofs in 'Vegas? NOT!
Hot Pleather seats in 'Vegas summers? Never.

But body stiffeners, light ENKEI RPF1 wheels and a cold air intake make a very nice handling car that is a bit faster too. And aftermarked Prius V specific LED fog lights are better than the five model's fogs.

Modding can be fun and save money over top of the line models.

Last edited by VPOWER; 04-20-2014 at 10:25 PM.
VPOWER is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 07-19-2014, 11:26 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Default

GPS in the five model 2013 Prius is not significantly better than the one in the 2004 I traded in. I would not have gotten it, but I wanted other parts of the five option package. I would prefer the Garmin I bought for when I rent a car after flying somewhere (or driving the 2004 with its outdated GPS). I got a good deal on it with free forever updates. The one on the Prius added a lot to the price, I'm sure, and the charge for updates is outrageous.

Can someone please tell me how to get it to stop asking if I want to reroute around traffic congestion? I'd like to be able to request that, but not be asked at 1-5 minute intervals.
GPKen is offline  
Reply

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome