Are there any aftermarket headunits compatible? - Toyota Prius Forum : Toyota Prius Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 02-23-2012, 11:59 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Default Are there any aftermarket headunits compatible?

I was wondering if there are any compatible aftermarket units already available or are there any being released? I was hoping to change the stock unit as soon as I pick one up. Any help will be greatly appreciated.
Prius-guy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 02-27-2012, 01:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Default

You should be able to. Theres companies out there right now offering direct fit units for almost any car. Its a bit pricey but its literally a direct fit. It even keeps all the OEM buttons, knobs, switches in the same place. Not sure if they made one for this but try searching online and see what you find.
Mean_Green_Machine is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 02-28-2012, 11:56 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Default

I wonder if it would be a better option to just go get the optional headunit that the dealership carries. If they do have a better one than the standard one.
Prius-guy is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 Old 03-01-2012, 04:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Default

Ok so from what Ive been able to search up so far Metra pretty much makes an install kit for almost any car. Plus they also make sure that all your stock buttons and controls are still useable. So I can actually get almost any aftermarket head unit and use the Metra install kit and brackets and still have a somewhat OEM looking center console.
Mean_Green_Machine is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 03-07-2012, 06:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Default

i have buddies that work for car audio shops and they all use metra kits to install aftermarket radios on cars. fitment is almost perfect and price is pretty good. only complaint ive ever heard is that some of the metra kits are easy to break if youre not careful.
car_crazy is offline  
Reply

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome