'01 Used Prius Needs New Battery - Toyota Prius Forum : Toyota Prius Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 08-30-2018, 09:33 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Question '01 Used Prius Needs New Battery

Hello everyone, I am a newb to the community. I am here to learn as much as I can about this model before purchasing one. But also, to help a friend who recently was burned by a "friend" of his when he bought the alleged friend's used '01 Prius. It sounded like a great deal until he discovered that the battery was on its last legs. The so-called friend didn't disclose that. After the money changed hands he admitted the battery needed to be replaced.

My friend who bought the car tells me he is facing a $2,900 bill to replace the battery. Can that be right? Seriously? On an '01?

I am thinking there must be a way here in Los Angeles to locate a "deal" on a new battery for this car? Is it worth replacing the battery on a Prius that old? Anyway, my buddy is feeling pretty bad about this transaction, I could have told him that he should have known better to buy a car with technology that was new to him without first investigating the condition of the car. But that's like telling him he should have closed the gate to keep the cow from getting out. Too little too late.

So I thought I might get lucky and discover some way to help him minimize the expense he's facing. I am sure plenty of members here have been down this road and know the best solutions. I would hate to see him make matters worse by pouring good money after bad. Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Robin
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 08-31-2018, 08:57 AM
Super Moderator

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)

Quote:
Originally Posted by robo21 View Post
My friend who bought the car tells me he is facing a $2,900 bill to replace the battery. Can that be right? Seriously? On an '01?
Yes. Sorry.