NooB from Maryland - Toyota Prius Forum : Toyota Prius Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 2 Old 11-17-2017, 10:54 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Default NooB from Maryland

I am trying to convince myself to buy a Prius v. Let me give a little back ground. I'm a cab driver on the road in Washington, DC as such for 32 years. I'm 70 years old which I think is relevant because the young take so easily to these new things. I'm trying but some of you other older sorts will understand.

The Prius v is very popular with cab drivers these day because of the excellent gas mileage. That's pretty much it. But it may help if I explain the reason we need this help is because of the effect Uber type services are having on our business. Half the year I am seeing a loss of 50% of my business. Winter is a little better.

I am a Gearhead. I have rebuilt alternators, lapped valves, installed upper and lower control arms, all else in the front end, steering boxes, exhaust systems and I have rebuilt several automatic transmissions. I do this to survive and because I want it done right. I own and ride the same a 1975 BMW R90/6 motorcycle for the last 19 years.

I'm leaning towards the type 2 Prius v because I don't need most of the finer features for the higher priced vehicles and I am of a mind that I must have a spare tire. I don't need wipers that turn themselves on or daytime driving lights (something I think is the stupidest thing added to cars in the last hundred years)

I don't like the smaller Prius because from info it looks to me that it is underpowered and not good for acceleration from a stop. It is also just too small for my job. All of the renters I have talked to say they would get the larger Prius if they could buy a car. I don't know a single owner that owns the smaller car.

I'll adapt to the funny way things are done as long as I can do things with the car when I see fit they happen, I guess.